“Patterns in the Dark” by Lindsay Buroker

This is the last ‘Dragon Blood’ book that I am reviewing, even though it ended on another cliff hanger, and I want to know what happens next.  I enjoyed the book, but I hate cliff hangers.  The only purpose they serve is to get you to read the next chapter, or in this case, to buy the next book.  I have hated cliff hangers ever since I went through my Dan Brown phase.  His writing was god awful, but I kept reading because I needed to know what happened next.  How does the protagonist survive the fall off the building?! OH NO!  Buroker is not a bad writer, but her reliance on the cliff hanger suggests poor judgement.

“Patterns in the Dark” picks up where “Blood Charged” left off, this time through the eyes of Ahn and Tolomek. They are searching for the source of the dragon blood and Tolomek’s sister, Tylie.  Somehow Tylie is mixed up with the Cofah conspiracy, which seems like a humongous coincidence. But you always need to use a heavy dose of suspension of disbelief, especially in the fantasy genre.

Meanwhile, Tolomek’s insecurities about his relationship with Ahn are showing.  He fears his feelings are not completely reciprocated, and he is jealous of Ahn’s commanding officer, Colonel Zirkander.  Ahn recognizes that she used to have a crush on her boss, she even admitted it in “Deathmaker,” but doesn’t know how to get Tolomek to see it that it is all in the past.  We learn a little more about her back story, how her father is a world famous assassin, and he trained her to follow in his footsteps.  Papa Ahn did not allow much room for emotion when she was growing up, so she struggles with the right words when Tolomek professes his love for her. This tension culminates in a confrontation halfway through the book, but then gets solved easily.  After the confrontation, Ahn suddenly knows how to express her feelings, if not verbally, at least physically. And then verbally.

However enjoyably my excursion into the “Dragon Blood” collection, it is time to move on.  I recently acquired 22 ebooks by donating to a wonderful charity through Humble Bundle. I learned about it on one of my favorite author’s blog, Patrick Rothfuss. So it will take me a while to work my way through those books.

Leave a comment